Sydney at Last!

by cunningstuff

Not one for using pics, especially my own, but this was my first trip to CBD Sydney, with a fly by of Circular Quay.

IMG_0041

Here are entering the M5, and on our way!

IMG_0049

I know it sounds stupid, but to a yank newly arrived, the clean gutters of the Aussie freeway are amazing!

IMG_0053

This pic is only for yanks with a strong heart, gas prices oh my!

IMG_0056

Brick facade on one side, modern glass and steel on the other, this is pretty common in Sydney, both old and new.

IMG_0066

This is Nick Cave’s roadies unloading for a show, I did not get to go, as this was only my second night.

IMG_0072

Here you can see why I do not post my own pics, but this is a festival in Newtown.

IMG_0087

My first glimpse of the skyline!

IMG_0098

Here we are entering downtown (known as CBD) Sydney!

IMG_0125

We just drove around, but here is Harbor Bridge through a door into Circular Quay.

IMG_0146

Obligatory cathedral pic, St. Mary’s in downtown Sydney!

IMG_0159

The building center left is the public broadcasting building, and yes, those are plants hanging out of an upstairs garden!

IMG_0143

This is a slightly obscured pic of Archibald Fountain, in Hyde Park.

Mostly as well, to let everyone know I have made it to Sydney, and am happily installed as a tourist for now. My Lovely Queen and I are getting along, and everything looks good for now. I had a horrible trip, but once landed was just fine.

